What's the best way to learn how to program

I want to learn how to write computer programs and have started with watching lynda.com videos and going through a couple SitePoint books. I told a friend of mine the other day that it feels like I am just learning how to lace up my shoes when every one else is actually playing baseball. . . any advice for how to best learn Ruby on Rails and if that should even be the first language.

Currently, I am looking at html tutorials, css tutorials and ruby on rails tutorials. My plan is to go through each of these books the next week and move to Ajax on Rails and Build Your Own Ajax Applications. Any good direction would be excellent. Thanks.

I want to learn how to write computer programs and have started with watching lynda.com videos and going through a couple SitePoint books. I told a friend of mine the other day that it feels like I am just learning how to lace up my shoes when every one else is actually playing baseball. . . any advice for how to best learn Ruby on Rails and if that should even be the first language.

Ruby on Rails is not a language, it is a framework. You should not attempt to use the framework until you know Ruby, the language.

Ruby is a reasonable first language, but don't imagine that knowing a language is the same as knowing how to program. To learn a little bit about how to program and a little bit of Ruby, (buy and) read Chris Pine's excellent Learn to Program. After that, you might be ready for Programming Ruby by Dave Thomas (et al.). After that I recommend both Agile Web Development with Rails by Dave Thomas and David Heinemeier Hansson (et al.) and Ruby for Rails by David A. Black.

Currently, I am looking at html tutorials, css tutorials and ruby on rails tutorials. My plan is to go through each of these books the next week and move to Ajax on Rails and Build Your Own Ajax Applications. Any good direction would be excellent. Thanks.