Is Ruby on Rails for beginner programmers?

Hello,

I am not a programmer but I would like to learn and develop more complex websites than the ones I have done in the past. I will not learn for the pleasure of learning, but I will do it as I need to develop my website. I am pretty good with HTML, and I know a bit of PHP and MySQL. I was about to plunge my head in my big PHP/MySQL book when I realized that it may not be the best programing language to learn. Would you recommend Rails for beginners? If not, what language would you recommend?

Thanks a lot in advance.

Note: I am sure that some people might say that the best programing language would depend on what type of website I want to create. However, I am not going to learn every languages before starting. Instead, I will just work with constrains of the language I chose.

Etilyeti wrote in post #955186:

Hello,

I am not a programmer but I would like to learn and develop more complex websites than the ones I have done in the past. I will not learn for the pleasure of learning, but I will do it as I need to develop my website. I am pretty good with HTML, and I know a bit of PHP and MySQL. I was about to plunge my head in my big PHP/MySQL book when I realized that it may not be the best programing language to learn. Would you recommend Rails for beginners?

I think so. It may take you a little longer to get up to speed, but you'll be rewarded with a very well-designed language and framework.

If not, what language would you recommend?

Rails isn't a language.

Thanks a lot in advance.

[...]

However, I am not going to learn every languages before starting. Instead, I will just work with constrains of the language I chose.

Poor idea. Of course you can't learn every language before starting, but it's silly to choose one that constrains you too much. Ruby doesn't. That's why I like it. :slight_smile: