high interest - cold feet.

lo there,

i have the book Agile development, and the PickAxe book. I am just getting started with both ruby, and a demo project on rails from the tutorial. I have a monstrosity of a site that i have designed for work. I started the project a year ago, while i was learning php. The site started as a simple way to get info to ag buisnessmen about current status of their machines. Now, however, we have added new features, and different functionality that makes the site very different from how it started out. Firstly, its a mess. Everything was built in pieces that do not really work together well. I want to do a complete rewrite. I would love to do it in rails.. but... i have a couple of questions that concern me about it.

I like how so much stuff is automated in Rails. But the content of our site now depends on a lot of conditionals. if condition exist, do this formula and display results in this table cell, if not do that formula, unless something else, then to do something else. etc.... Is this kind of thing as easy to pull off in rails as it is in php? ( not that its really easy in php )

another question... after a huge site is built, if something new comes along that we need to support, It will require more tables or more cells. Will this mess anything up?

Lastly, one of the ways i am trying to sell this to my boss is by the ease of use with ajax. I want to learn this to enhance our user experience. We want this site to be world class, and after showing off some sites to my employer, he was pretty excited about some of the widgets for our site. Does rails really make it easier to do this ?

I am going to be learning rails eventually anyway for my own pet projects. But if any of you have some feedback here on my concerns or to quell my nervousness about this, I would really appreciate it a lot.

If you have read this far, i thank you for your time.

happy coding. shawn