Having a terrible time

Hey guys and ladies. I'm really new to RoR and I have spent 3-4 weeks trying to find out how to install and getting and IDE to work with it.. I've tried on Ubuntu and Windows (I know windows isn't the greatest to use for Rails but yeah) I feel like I tried everything

Any Tips trick or problem solving for RoR I would like to know your stories to.. Feel welcome to call me a noob I'll take the criticism.

Thank you,

One T Mathew

I don’t really see why you have problems installing RoR. Windows is not recommended, of course. What I do is I install a fresh copy of Ubuntu, and then run railsready from

https://github.com/joshfng/railsready

Dheeraj Kumar

We cannot help much unless you tell us what your current problem is. So on Ubuntu what issue are you having? Just one issue at a time please or the answers get all mixed up.

Colin

Hey guys and ladies. I’m really new to RoR and I have spent 3-4 weeks

trying to find out how to install and getting and IDE to work with it…

I’ve tried on Ubuntu and Windows (I know windows isn’t the greatest to

use for Rails but yeah) I feel like I tried everything

Have you read Agile Web Development with Rails? It could help you, and if you search here

http://guides.rubyonrails.org/

you can find some help, I suggest to keep with ubuntu… it may be difficult to install what its necessary (rvm… dependencies… etc) but you find it useful

An IDE it’s not necessary, you may try with gedit or if you keep on windows just notepad :slight_smile:

Any Tips trick or problem solving for RoR I would like to know your

stories to… Feel welcome to call me a noob I’ll take the criticism.

That’s not necessary :slight_smile: