VIRTUAL RAILS>>STILL LEARNING

I am running windows vista on my lap top. I installed virtual box and virtual rails on this laptop and it is running linux. I am very new at learning rails. So far the only thing I have done is create a blog application by typing in: mkdir rails_projects cd rails_projects rails first_app

so now im at the point where I am typing the following: 1. rails blog 2. cd blog 3. script server

after this I go to my web server and type in localhost/3000, after doing this I click the link that says "about your applications environment". When I click this I get an error message saying "we're sorry, but something went wrong" Is this because I dont have a data base running like SQlite? I typed sqlite into the terminal and it tells me what version I have so Im assuming that its installed. Where do I go from here? Im very much a novice at this point and any feedback would be appreciated.

Hi Rich,

It would help if you told us which Linux distribution you are using. But in order to use Sqlite with Ruby on Rails, you need version Sqlite 3. You should also install the Sqlite3 development libraries for your Linux distribution. You shouldn't also forget to install the development tools so that your gems can be compiled against the development libraries. Finally, you should install the sqlite3-ruby gem with the command [sudo] gem install sqlite3-ruby.

You can search Google on how to setup Rails on your Linux distribution, and if you do find some issues, then come back to us telling us which Linux distribution you are using and the problems you are facing.

Regards,

Fidel.

Fidel,

Thanks for your reply. I am using Linux Mint. does that sound right? I dont know how to look up what linux distribution I have installed. Also I typed in sqlite3 in my terminal and i got back SQLite version 3.6.16. How do I install sqlite3 development libraries?

Hi Rich,