"no such file to load -- sqlite3" Rails

Hi to everyone!

I'm new with Ruby on Rails.. I use linux (an italian distribution, that is just like Slackware)

I'm writing my first program with rails.. Nothing special.. it is the famous Hello World..! (I'm reading the book of Dave Thomas "Agile Web Development with Rails")

Well the problem is that when I point my browser to http://localhost:3000/dire/ciao ("dire" is my controller and "ciao" is the action) the browser displays this problem:

MissingSourceFile in DireController#ciao

no such file to load -- sqlite3

This error occurred while loading the following files:    sqlite3

So I write in my shell: gem install sqlite3-ruby

The gem was installed, but the problem remains..!

Do you know what should I do?

I don't know if I have to change something in the file database.yml..? database.yml:

# SQLite version 3.x # gem install sqlite3-ruby (not necessary on OS X Leopard) development:    adapter: sqlite3    database: db/development.sqlite3    timeout: 5000

# Warning: The database defined as 'test' will be erased and # re-generated from your development database when you run 'rake'. # Do not set this db to the same as development or production. test:    adapter: sqlite3    database: db/test.sqlite3    timeout: 5000

production:    adapter: sqlite3    database: db/production.sqlite3    timeout: 5000

Can someone help me? Thanks!!!

Lisa

Check the documentation for your system’s package manager and find out how to install sqlite3 (the binary files).

With ubuntu it’s sudo apt-get install sqlite3

You’ve got the ruby libraries, but you still need the sqlite3 library :slight_smile: Good luck!

Lisa Concli wrote:

Well the problem is that when I point my browser to http://localhost:3000/dire/ciao ("dire" is my controller and "ciao" is the action) the browser displays this problem:

MissingSourceFile in DireController#ciao

I'm experiencing a similar problem. I'm using Rails 2.1 with my first hello-world application.