Using an Editor versus an IDE for learning Rails in 2023

Hi All,

I am considering diving into Ruby on Rails and would like some advice on what to use as my editor/ide to learn and be productive with my dive. I’m an experienced coder in many other languages. I would like to know what editor or ide y’all suggest for learning and editing ruby / ruby on rails code, in 2023? As a mixed language coder, I am not interested in becoming a hardcore ROR person, but just in picking it up and being able to build apps that work with it at say a prototype level or personal use level. I like fast editors that have syntax highlighting, some form of tab completion, and that are integrated with the windowing system of the OS, currently I use Kate, when I need something more than vi.

I’m currently running Linux Mint 21.2 “Victoria”, but I often run Mojave on my Mac Pro, and Windows only when absolutely, as a last, desperate, necessity (removing word metadata or Visual Studio or something).

Way back when, when I looked into this, a lot of rails devs were using Textmate (which is great, on OS X, but I need something on Linux). I see some folks using Sublime, which, out of the box anyway, appears to be similar to textmate, but with no easy quick file open feature like CMD-T. Anyway, I’m open to suggests as to what text editor/ide is a good option in the modern era!

Thanks,

Will

1 Like

currently I use Kate, when I need something more than vi

I’ve never used Kate so maybe way off base but but it’s odd for me to see some describe vi as not enough. :wink:

Probably most folks would recommend VSCode. If you don’t want it with the spyware, you can use the VSCodium version. Despite being an Electron app (which I normally detest) I do have to admit VSCode does perform very well. It’s a bit too kitchen sink for my tastes but for most folks it’s their preferred pick these days.