Rails and MySQL woes

Hi,

I'm new to Rails and can't seem to get it working with MySQL.

I am running Ruby 1.9.3, Rails 3.1.3, and MySQL 5.5.17 (windows 7 64bit).

I create the most basic rails project (rails generate demo index, uncomment the last line of the routs.rb file), run the sever and navigate to page and get:

ActiveRecord::ConnectionNotEstablished

ActiveRecord::ConnectionNotEstablished

Rails.root: C:/Users/sdeese/Desktop/RailsPractice/RailsApplication6/RailsApplication6 Application Trace | Framework Trace | Full Trace

Request

Parameters:

None

Show session dump

Show env dump Response

Headers:

None

Can anyone help me?

thanks

Some questions:

Have you setup the database name username and password in database.yml?

Have you created the database rake db:create and run the migrations (if any) rake db:migrate

Are you able to access the database using whatever mysql interface is available for windows?

Note that rails expects there to be a database even if you have not got any tables in it yet.

Colin

Colin Law wrote in post #1035428:

Minus a few thumb-fingered mis-types and sanity checks:

521 rvm install ruby-1.9.3-preview1 522 rvm use 1.9.3 523 rvm gemset create 3.1.3 524 rvm use 1.9.3@3.1.3 526 gem install rails -v=3.1.3 528 rails new swamp -d mysql 529 cd swamp 535 vi config/database.yml 536 rake db:create 540 rails g resource thing name:string age:integer 541 rake db:migrate 544 vi app/controllers/things_controller.rb 546 vi app/views/things/index.html.erb 547 rails s

...and... lights! camera! action!

mysqld Ver 5.1.41 for apple-darwin9.5.0 on i386 (MySQL Community Server (GPL))

Apparently it *does* work. And maybe if you responded to the specific questions already posed by Colin Law, we could help you past whatever is not working in your environment.

Just sayin' ...

yes, but sweeping declarative statements are never going to be a good starting point for taking advice :-/