Help with Rails/MySQL setup on Windows

I'm just getting started with Rails, and I'm having trouble getting everything set up correctly. I have installed Ruby 1.8.4, Rails 1.1.6, and MySQL 5.0. I am able to create a rails app, start WEBrick, and see the default page, but I cannot get Rails to play nice with MySQL. I have not created any migrations, but when I run "rake db:migrate" just to see if everything is wired up correctly, I get a cryptic error:

C:\rails_apps\test_app>mysqladmin -u root create test_app_development C:\rails_apps\test_app>rake db:migrate (in C:/rails_apps/test_app) rake aborted! Bad file descriptor - connect(2)

My database.yml file contains the defaults:

development:   adapter: mysql   database: test_app_development   username: root   password:   host: localhost

And I am able to connect to MySQL through the command line:

C:\rails_apps\test_app>mysql -u root test_app_development

create table dummy(i int);

Query OK, 0 rows affected (0.16 sec)

drop table dummy;

Query OK, 0 rows affected (0.03 sec)

I should also note that I can use InstantRails without a problem - I'd just really like to be able to get it working manually. Any thoughts?

Hmm, you didn’t mention it so I’ll suggest giving

rake db:migrate --trace

a try to see if the extra verbosity will reap any clues.

Thanks for the response, Collin... here is the verbose output: