rake db:migrate fail! bad descriptor

Dear All,

I am just getting into Ruby on Rails, after successfully failing at getting any other programming language to work locally. RoR appears to be a repeat! One problem I keep running into is getting a database up and running.

I'm working out of Windows XP.

I installed MySQL, it works, runs, will create tables etc. BUT, when I do rake db:migrate...it fails and tells me I have a bad descriptor. I've spent over 24 hours now searching, uninstalling, reinstalling, deleting, re-creating everything, and to no avail. SQLite also doesn't want to work. I am a TOTAL newbie to programming, so I have no idea what's needed or wanted by any of each of these little things I installed. I just follow the instructions, install what they recommend and cross my fingers.

Also, I'm not connected to the internet via XP, so I had to manually download and install ALL gems, how fun. Anyway, do I NEED to be connected for the MySQL gem, or should I already have it? What should I have in order for everything to work, so far I have WEBrick running, I have an IDE, I have the package manager, I have Ruby installed, it's only the dbs that are haunting me.

I've checked the database.yml file and MySQL and WEBrick are both running. I don't get it.

What else do I need? What should I try?

Thanks!

You do need to install the mysql gem. The top of the file config/database.yml has a comment listing the gem that is needed. That may be your answer.

BCSnow wrote:

Do I have to install it via the internet, or is there somewhere to download it?

Thanks.

If that doesn’t help, can you paste in your migration file as well as the exact error message you are getting. We’ll get you going!

William Pratt wrote:

You can download it. Here is the url with instructions: http://www.vandomburg.net/pages/mysql-ruby-windows

BCSnow wrote:

I downloaded that link and followed the instructions, didn't work.