new to ruby need help

Hi,

I am extremely sorry for taking your quality time. But i am in a jam now. This is what happened. I am a web developer with decent knowledge of CSS, HTML, PHP, Unix, Shell, C++ and absolutely no knowledge of ruby.

I was working on a e-commerce module that i have to demonstrate tomorrow. But i lost the whole code when my hard-disk crashed. Now i am working on opencart to develop a module that i can show to save my soul. In meanwhile, i asked one of my friends if they had a spare code. he has sent me an application but its in ruby. (i have no freaking idea how to run it).

Therefore, i went on to net learnt a little bit of it, found out its similar to shell in some ways. Moreover, i downloaded Aptana studio 3, now i am going through his code, but i am unable to launch it as an application.

Is there anyone who can give me some pointers on it.

Thanking you in advance.

If the database is created and setup, then just run ‘rails s’ under the project directory and open your browser to check http://localhost:3000.

If it is not, then you need to setup the database as below:

1. rake db:create // create the database

2. rake db:migrate // create the tables in the database

3. rake db:seed // if there is any data need to setup

For the database setup, see the config/database.yml to fill the correct credential of you local database.

If there is any errors, please paste the log here and we can check it together.

Dear Yong Gu,

You guys are fast. I mean really fast i have been on unix forums (unix.com) for a while, but replies this fast its amazing. I have tried writing "rails s" it always says "sh.exe: rake: command not found"

Do i need to use some other emacs as of now i am using Aptana Studio 3 on Windows 8 OS.

If you know of any better version tools or emacs or softwares for running ruby easily on windows 8, do let me know i will download that particular version.

Yong Gu wrote in post #1107444:

Hi,