Need Volunteers: New Rails Shopping Cart

Greetings,

I'm a long time Java programmer and I'm considering switching my consulting business to Rails. The only shopping cart solution out there I could find is Substruct. Substruct is ok but it differs significantly from my own personal goal of creating a shopping cart that can be easily integrated into a custom website.

The goal is to create a shopping cart that could be used by experienced Rails programmers. It wouldn't do 100% of what you need but I've never seen a shopping cart that didn't need to be tweaked. So this would be something that would contain all of the basics: inventory management and organization, shopping cart and checkout process, gateway integration and reporting. It would be technically possible to run it as a standalone website but it would be pretty generic looking. The idea is that the end user would customize some of the views and styling.

I will have a very rough cut of the code in a week or so but I could obviously use some help. If we get the right people involved this will be a very useful product. Please contact me if you're interested. Please only respond if you have a serious amount of time to dedicate to this. You don't have to be a Rails guru (I'm definitely not) but significant web app experience would be helpful.

Regards,

Sean

Hi I am also creating a shoppingcart system for a client of mine with a lot of functions in it. I have just finished up the admin interface for products and all tables connected to products in one way or another.

/Andreas

Is that an offer to help?

Lets create a google doc and compare functions to see if we are heading the same path, okey?

schof wrote:

Greetings,