How to make a social network website

Hi, I'm a new programmer and I want to make a social network like facebook or orkut.

I only know the basics of C and a bit of Objective-C (OOP). I know nothing about web programming.

My question is what should I use, ruby on rails or python with django? I know it is a ruby on rails group, so I know I have to expect the good points on rails, but since I don't know any of the 2 languages, and neither anything on web programming, I'd like your opinion why rails is better.

Also where should I start learning how to make my social network with ruby on rails? Any particular book, opencoursewares, or tutorials I could use?

I downloaded a book, "RailsSpace - Building a Social Networking Website with Ruby on Rails", but don't know if it is good, and also it requires some knowledge of HTML, which I don't have.

Thank you for your time, Rodrigo

Hi, I’m a new programmer and I want to make a social network like

facebook or orkut.

Welcome to being a new programmer and I can see you have already set a lofty goal for yourself. It’s good to have ambition. :slight_smile:

I only know the basics of C and a bit of Objective-C (OOP). I know

nothing about web programming.

Understanding OOP is going to be key when learning Ruby and Ruby on Rails.

My question is what should I use, ruby on rails or python with django?

I know it is a ruby on rails group, so I know I have to expect the

good points on rails, but since I don’t know any of the 2 languages,

and neither anything on web programming, I’d like your opinion why

rails is better.

Ruby and Ruby on Rails. It’s more OOP with a very active and enthusiastic user base. In my opinion it is definitely more popular. This is based on my very unscientific study of what jobs recruiters call me about.

Here is a great link where the author compares the two very well. http://www.wikivs.com/wiki/Python_vs_Ruby

Also where should I start learning how to make my social network with

ruby on rails?