Hosting Ruby on Rails on GoDaddy - Solved!

Hello all,

I know how very challenging it can be to host a ROR application of GoDaddy. The good news is that after 10 days of blood, sweat and tears, I finally got it

to work!!!

First, let me start by saying that I'm somewhat of a newbie to Rails. However, I've been programming in Java and/or C# for the last 10+ years so I've been

around the block a couple times when it comes to this stuff. Secondly, this was undoubtedly one of the most challenging development tasks I've undertaken

this year, so please don't feel bad if you didn't get it to work the first 10 attempts because it took me waaaaay more than that!. Well, with that said, I'm

sure you're eager to get to the how-to so let's do it.

Right now, I'd love to write a few paragraphs on how GoDaddy's Ruby on Rails support and documentation is abominal, but that would only be preaching to the

choir... Instead, let's make some lemonade :slight_smile:

One more thing, please forgive and typing/spelling errors, I'm writing this in Notepad.

My Setup

Thanks for your detailed step installing rails!!! After following your instruction and installing 1.1.6 rails application I tried installing also 2.*applications but it wasn’t so easy. There was an error for a gem method not recognized on godaddy server and I discovered that the problem can be resolved replacing gem calls with the oldest require_gem call. After replacing all these method in vendor/rails files I successfully installed my rails 2.0.5 application on GoDaddy. I wrote a page with all the steps at

I hope it will be useful for someone… Thanks again Matteo

Hi sir I followed your post.I got a running RoR on godaddy without a

My problem when I try to add a simple query on the database my

page only display a blank page.I really don’t what happening.

deluxe hosting linux development machine win xp rails 1.1.6 ruby 1.8.6 gem 0.9.4 mysql 5