How TO deploy A Rails application on GoDaddy

Hello All

I am new to deployment an rails application . i purchased web hosting plan on go-daddy. and did the following stpes

1. Log in to the GoDaddy Hosting Control Center

Make sure Java is disabled (under Language Options). If it is enabled, you can’t deploy a Rails application. Change the setting to none (and you’ll need to wait 24 hours for your site(s) to be moved to a new server). 3. Log into the CGI control panel and create a Rails application directory. 4. Create a symbolic link to your newly created rails directory.

1. Freeze your gems: rake rails:freeze:gems

Next to do is

1. Edit your dispatch.* files to reference #!/usr/local/bin/ruby

Where is dispatch.* . I don’t know that

Error coming right now

Internal Server Error

Something else i missed and if Anybody have document or notes please help me on this ??

Link below is your answer: http://www.johnyerhot.com/2008/11/04/deployment-nightmare-godaddy/

I don't think godaddy is good place to deploy rails applications. You will save your time and money if you choose another place to host your application. I use linode, thought that one is a VPS which you must config from scratch (install os, webserver, ruby, pessenger, gems, rails etc).

Thanks but there is no hope to get it working :frowning:

Hello All

I am new to deployment an rails application . i purchased web hosting plan on go-daddy. and did the following stpes

1. Log in to the GoDaddy Hosting Control Center

Make sure Java is disabled (under Language Options). If it is enabled, you can’t deploy a Rails application. Change the setting to none (and you’ll need to wait 24 hours for your site(s) to be moved to a new server). 3. Log into the CGI control panel and create a Rails application directory. 4. Create a symbolic link to your newly created rails directory.

1. Freeze your gems: rake rails:freeze:gems

Next to do is

1. Edit your dispatch.* files to reference #!/usr/local/bin/ruby