Biometrics fingerprint scanner in RoR? Is it possible? and how?

This is not a rails question at all. It's a web browser & fingerprint scanner question.

Is there any way to access fingerprint scanner results from a web browser? If so, using RoR to handle the backend of the web application is no different than any other web app. If not, rails certainly can't help you around that roadblock.

I'm a graduating student of IT right now and in a couple of months, we'll be starting on a new project in the University. My group and I decided to create a voting system which requires Fingerprint scanner to identify the voters and make the voting process more secured. I still don't know how biometrics fingerprint scanner works exactly and I've just started to do some research.

So my question is, is it even possible that RoR can use a biometrics fingerprint scanner?

I've been searching the net (until now) if there are some tutorials or tips that could help me do this project using RoR..

This is not a rails question at all. It's a web browser & fingerprint scanner question.

Is there any way to access fingerprint scanner results from a web browser? If so, using RoR to handle the backend of the web application is no different than any other web app. If not, rails certainly can't help you around that roadblock.