card reader or bar code reader in rails ? URGENT HELP

hai all how to manipulate (read/write) card readers (or bar code reader ) in rails project ? give me any sample code ,tutorials ,tools, etc .

i am new to this card reader category its very urgent

thank you .

Is there a card reader or bar code reader attached to your webserver?

Most card readers that I've seen (for barcodes, at least) simply scan an object and return a number. You could do whatever you want with the number.

-Kyle

Most readers I've played with come in two varieties: Keyboard Wedge or RS-232 Serial.

Keyboard Wedge -- these are probably the most common type in use today since PC hardware is so damned cheap. They look like a keyboard, and actually type out the numbers. You can usually program what they send before and after a bar code or credit card is read, so you could (for instance) send some codes to focus on the right input field, where the number will just be typed as any other keyboard input would go. I also suspect some clever Javascript might help here.

Serial types are usually driven by a central server or some other special driver on a local machine. For example, I've had up to 32 serial barcode scanners tied into one machine before, each doing inventory processing. The user would scan in the box, then scan in a quantity from a card they had. This is probably not what you mean though when you want to use it with Rails.

This is where a real application (written in Java, C++, or whatever) would work better than a Web application. If you really want to limit people to using IE (like so many do...) then you can write an ActiveX based application, but that's not really Rails anymore. You can also just require the user to focus on the right field when scanning / swiping, but that is going to cause errors.

--Michael

I just evaluated and purchased bar code readers and after buy and returning 3 different models, I highly recommend the Intermec SR30 (P/ N 225-728-001)