beginner questions

Lo there,

I am wanting to redo our company website in rails ( it now uses php ). I have the Agile book on the way here from Amazon. I am really new at this, and had a couple of questions.

First off, we run three websites off of our apache server at work ( debian linux ). I know that ror can use apache instead of webbrick as a server. Is it possible to run more than one rails app from one server using virtual hosting (name based).

Next. We do a lot of intense graphing apps that are written in php using a class called JpGraph. How well do rails and php play together ? or would it be worth it to use a ruby charting and graphing app ?

lastly, I know that there are certain conventions that rails looks for in how it uses a database. Our tables follow none of these. Would i have to restructure my SQL tables to make use of rails? I mean, i know that i can follow our own conventions ( which stink ) but will that prove a configuration nightmare ? Would it be best to just restructure everything according to rails conventions ?

I guess thats it. The reason i want to use rails is because I have just started getting into ruby, and rails looks like a really cool way to handle our web front end. Many many of our scripts that we use to run the site now are php and need to be revamped anyway. I started building the site about a year ago whilst learning php.

Anyway, please, any tips would be greatly appreciated.

thanks. sk

Hi nephish,

Let me just share some experiences.

* It is fully possible to run your different rails apps behind an apache server. I would recommend you to set up one mongrel server (or a cluster of mongrel servers, read about it on the webpage) per application, and point your different Vhosts to those server ports. Apache dont have native rails support as a module, so the best way to go is mongrel in my opinion. There are other options like Fastcgi to run your app, but I myself only had bad experiences with it.