A few newbie questions about RoR

Hi,

my website is developed by a webdesign office, but now I want to be able to change the website myself. I've knowledge about php and html but I'm new to RoR. So now I want to create a new page on our site, but I don't know how to do this. This is what I tried: -I've manually wrote a controller (newsletter.rb)and placed it in the controller folder -I've wrote the newsletter.rhtml (in the newsletter folder that is stored in the views folder)

But when I try to open the page on IE, I get a 404 error. I used the same structure that the other pages uses.

I hope you can help me.

Without seeing the code this is just a wild guess, but the first place I'd look would be config/routing.rb. That's the file that controls which requests go to which controllers - assuming your controller is valid, the 404 says the request never got to it.

I strongly suggest that you spend some quality time on a RoR beginners tutorial before you adventure without a clear map of where are you going. I also highly recommend to buy the Agile Web Development with Rails from David Thomas and do the tutorial on the first part.

Is not that I can't help you, is that your question is so basic, that I know you haven't read (and practice) a basic beginners tutorial.

Look for one of the many blog creation tutorial with rails also. That should give you enough knowledge to start modifying you site.

Good luck!

Best regards, Jorge Corona.

Also as a wild guess, he needs an action called as the template, as a minimum. It seems that this is the problem. (again, without looking at the code).