which database servers are used for ruby on rails applications

Hi friends,

I am new to ruby on rails technology, i started with some pdf's, i am not getting idea which db is used for ruby on rails applications, basically i am .net developer, some of them suggested Sqllite3, if i use SqlLite3, sqlLiteManagementstudio Ide is usefuly, if it is use fully how i use for my application, where i have to create tables and where i have to write stored procs and queries, and how i acces in my application. any one have idea please help me .

Thanks In Advance V.Venkat

You asked about getting started four days ago and I answered though you did not thank me for my suggestions. The answer is still the same: First use Linux (Ubuntu for example) or Mac. Second follow a tutorial such as railstutorial.org which is free to use online. I recommend using rvm to install ruby and rails.

Have you completed the tutorial already?

Sqlite is good for development as it is very easy to setup and use, but it is not suitable for production. Most rails apps do not use stored procs and queries.

Colin

Colin Law wrote in post #1094734:

Hi friends,

I am new to ruby on rails technology, i started with some pdf's, i am not getting idea which db is used for ruby on rails applications, basically i am .net developer, some of them suggested Sqllite3, if i use SqlLite3, sqlLiteManagementstudio Ide is usefuly, if it is use fully how i use for my application, where i have to create tables and where i have to write stored procs and queries, and how i acces in my application. any one have idea please help me .

You asked about getting started four days ago and I answered though you did not thank me for my suggestions. The answer is still the same: First use Linux (Ubuntu for example) or Mac. Second follow a tutorial such as railstutorial.org which is free to use online. I recommend using rvm to install ruby and rails.