What should I ask for an hourly rate ?

I would like some advice on how much to quote an hourly rate for Rails work. Since I am anxious to do some Rails stuff I quote lower rates for Rails work than other stuff and I have been quoting less than $40/hour even though I think I am a good developer. The problem I am having is that I do not have alot of web development experience on my resume. I have 10 years of C++, some Java, and 3 years of Perl. I have studied Javascript, HTML, and some CSS and played with all that. I've worked on 2 or 3 actual websites and did some Rails/AJAX stuff, but I am a good developer. If someone wanted to critque my resume I can send a copy. I don't check my yahoo mail that often and it's full of spam, if you send me email, perhaps make a note of it here so I know to check it. I am thinking of going to the unemployment office for free coaching on interviewing etc.

Thanks

I can't tell you what rate works for you, but I can give you some general advice.

Figure out what you realistically need to make including taxes and time between "billable" jobs and then add a profit margin. You'll very likely be surprised by the number, but DON'T sell yourself cheap. Even if you're "making a living" from a salaried position doing something else (which I suspect is *not* the case as you mention the unemployment office), quoting a low rate in order to get the work is just increasing the likelihood of finding a client that's trying to get the work done "on the cheap."

I've talked to many independent Rails developers and everyone agrees that they probably aren't charging enough since they're fully consumed at their current rates. No one was anywhere near as low as $40/hr either.