text_field_with_auto_complete problem

I can't get the autocomplete feature of script.aculo.us to work. I have tried every guide I could find and several books to no avail.

As you can probably tell from the code, I'm new to this and just used the scaffolding feature to setup a framework I was planning on altering. Things I've tried so far to no avail are removing the auto_complete function from the controller and removing the javascript_include_tag from the view. Regardless of those changes, when I type the first letters of a valid name into the text_field_with_auto_complete it does not give me any suggestions. Any help would be most appreciated!

Below are excerpts from my controller and my view file:

I should probably also mention that I did install the plug-in as per the direction of some guide I found on the internet.

You could try what sandy posted here:

http://railsforum.com/viewtopic.php?pid=49557#p49557

Sorry about my mistake. I posted back to Ryan but not into the general discussion that I've already tried the that guide but the CSS information which is generated in the rendered page is identical to the CSS in that guide.

I also double-checked the "name" field to make sure it is type "text".

Is there a better venue than this to get Ruby help?

Damien,

debugging these types of things can be tricky, but knowing what to look at can help.

auto complete breaks into a number if steps.

1. you enter the characters into the field 2. javascript functions on the page make an ajax request to the controller 3. the controller method accesses the model to do the search, formats the information and renders it back to the autocomplete list div 4. steps 2 and 3 repeat until you press enter. 5. Pressing enter triggers javascript to either update the web page locally, and/or make an ajax call to another controller method. 6. The controller method can then update whatever other part of the page it needs to.