Some fundamental architectural insights on the Ruby On Rails technology compared to Java

Hi guys,

It's a pleasure for me to join your community mailing list. I am a keen software engineer and experimenter, and happen to investigate and dive into the Ruby language from a couple of weeks. So far i have become familiar with the basics of the syntax and semantics of the language, and, of course, i would like to get to know the Ruby web application framework Rails too. But i enjoy understanding the principles which a software platform relies on, so i would kindly like to ask you some questions about the architecture of the Rails framework that i couldn't find by googling , and would highly appreciate your comments and answers.

Since i come from the JavaSE and JavaEE world, its inevitable for me to try to use the analogy principles between Ruby and Java. In JavaSE we write standalone applications, which we execute over a JVM. In JavaEE we can write web applications, which require a JavaEE web server and container to be deployed in (and of course, underlying the container there is a JVM).

In the classical Ruby scenario, we write standalone applications, which we run on Ruby VM (there are a lot of VMs, implemented in different languages). But when it comes to writing Ruby web applications on Rails, we need some more sophisticated execution environment, such as a Rails web server - WEBrick, Mongrel, etc. Am i already getting it wrong ? Are WEBrick, Mongrel the Ruby analogies of a JavaEE application server, or they are actually something completely different?

Google says that Mongrel is a web server, but isn't Mongrel also executing Ruby code ?