Some architecture questions - need help

Hi guys,

I am a Java/J2ee programmer and just came across ruby & ruby on rails, played with it a bit and found it great. A new client/server project I need to be responsible of, contains the following:

MVC architecture RMI - to send methods via tcp/ip to a third-party program written in C+ + that accepts the data and send it back manipulated. (We used rmi, stubs,jndi in our java/j2ee environment) Multithreading - My project will have many users creating many tasks that will need to go back & forth through the network from the ruby code to a C++ code (FastCGI???).

In first glance I can see, ROR is great with data manipulation web sites, that most actions involve receiving data from user doing manipulation and sending it back. Can ROR ignite an asynchrony process that will interact with C++ dll's using a wrapper of some sort?

Can this be done by ruby on rails ? what kind of web server should I use (Apache,LightTPD?)I'm not locked on anything Should I use JRuby for that? Are there any plug-ins for that?

Ths are many questions, I know :frowning:

But with few guidelines from someone who knows (and I know shit about ROR), I can build my environment. (my OS is Windows).

Thanks a lot and waiting for HELP :slight_smile:

Yossi

Hi guys,

I am a Java/J2ee programmer and just came across ruby & ruby on rails, played with it a bit and found it great. A new client/server project I need to be responsible of, contains the following:

I would say that you are outside the sweet spot for Rails. Rails really expects to be sitting on a database, and expects you to interact with it in standard ways - via a web browser or other HTTP client, via e-mail etc. There are plugins for lots of things (BackgrounDRb comes to mind) that can help you, but you are doing most of your real work in pure Ruby then.