Ruby/Rails: too good to be true?

I've never touched ruby/rails before, but after visiting ruby-lang.org a couple of days ago my interest in Ruby has exploded. This is among other things because of the beautiful syntax and the fact that everything is objects.

FYI: I've been using PHP for 5-6 years now, and I've built my own small company around this language - so when looking at Ruby and Rails I'm naturally trying to compare them to PHP.

I'm the kind of person who finds it rather hard just to "trust" that other people made a framework that is "perfect" my projects. This is not because I think I'm better than other developers, but simply because I know for sure that frameworks made by others simply isn't made especially for my project.

Therefore I have to ask: Why are so many people choosing Rails for their web apps instead of making their own specific frameworks (as we see with for example PHP). The percentage of websites based of PHP frameworks is rather low - in ruby it seems that "all" websites are made with Rails (I maybe wrong here, this is just my perception). Why is this?

Mostly, I would not call those things real "Application Frameworks". This might not be the case, with your projects, but in my experience most of those mini-frameworks are in existance because no one knew better. Sometimes, they are quite good, sometimes they are horrible. Your milage may vary. I had the possibility to work both on "frameworkless" and framework-based (Mojavi & Agavi) Sites   in PHP and I have to state: those based on a framework are easier to handle. Consider a Framework as a set of shared knowledge. We are all doing the same thing. So why do it twice? If you start thinking about the way a framework like Rails or Agavi describe the web, you will find out that most of your "problem orientated code" was useless - because there is an easy, general way of solving your problem.