How is rails different from PHP from Apache's view?

Hi,

I love rails much better than php.

I do, too.

(I'm not a php expert, though.)

I'm not either.

However, when I use rails with apache, it's painful.

Very.

(I use Dreamhost as my web hosting server, by the way)

Sorry to hear that. I was involved in a project that tried to deploy to DreamHost. I had nothing but problems. And it was very slow. Even SSHing to the command line was like frozen syrup. I would advise searching for a host that is dedicated to Rails deployments, not one that just tacks it on.

I know that I can't compare rails with php because rails is a framework and php is a language. Let's just think that rails is a ruby with some libraries. Then it's comparison between php and ruby, right?

Right, you'd want to compare PHP to Ruby. It's a matter of preference. I like Ruby. I remember when I was making a decision between Python and Ruby, I read an article that offered a very sound piece of advice. It went something like this: both Python and Ruby are great and you can accomplish whatever you need to in them, but they feel different. Try both out and go with the one that "feels better" to you. I did that, and I like the feel of Ruby. I also like the feel of Rails.

Why is rails so difficult to deploy while php is easy? Can we make rails as easy as php for apache, or is it fundamentally impossible?