Ruby on Rails Hosting.

Hey all,

I am currently doing my dissertation project and am extremely far in to the process and am ready to host it external of my university due to my university not having Ruby on Rails support on their servers.

I am wondering if anyone knows of any free hosting sites for ruby on rails that would be easy in use as this is my first time hosting a website and the first time I have ever worked with Rails.

I have no intention of starting the project again but just simply want to be able to upload my project to a site, free of charge in order for me to demonstrate it to the examiners at the end of March.

Any feed back would be great. Thanks.

Heroku.com is generally reckoned to be the best.

Colin

Heroku is the easiest to use and should be good for what you describe. However, you will want to make sure you research, in detail, the database situation. Heroku is now forcing the use of Postgres for “production” deployment, in certain situations. Since your app is probably using SQLite, you will want to try to deploy to Heroku on an older stack - one that allows the use of SQLite. Otherwise you will be doing some reconfigurations that will complicate your situation.

Has Heroku ever used anything but PostgreSQL? Have you ever had a DB-related issue deploying an app to Heroku that was being developed with a non-PG database? (Other than with DB-proprietary SQL, of course)

Just curious, I've never had (or heard of) such a problem; wondering if I've just been lucky :slight_smile:

Heroku is the easiest to use and should be good for what you describe. However, you will want to make sure you research, in detail, the database situation. Heroku is now forcing the use of Postgres for "production" deployment, in certain situations. Since your app is probably using SQLite, you will want to try to deploy to Heroku on an older stack - one that allows the use of SQLite. Otherwise you will be doing some reconfigurations that will complicate your situation.