Ruby on Rails bachelor thesis

Dear Rubyists,

This year I have to write my bachelor thesis for my Informatics study and I want to perform research regarding RoR. However, I have no concrete idea or subject which I can use. So my question to you is, what research questions can you come up with and are interesting enough to fully discuss in a bachelor thesis? I have been working with RoR for a couple of months now and want to focus myself on this web framework.

Thanks in advance guys

I’ve thought it would be interesting to see a paper on the study of the evolution of programming languages towards natural (or at least, recognizable) language, and the influence of that on the ability of previously non-programmers beginning to create their own software. That, in at least part, would focus more on Ruby than on Rails, but Rails is a perfect example of an explosion of people creating useful websites that either wouldn’t or couldn’t program before.

Michel B wrote:

This year I have to write my bachelor thesis for my Informatics study and I want to perform research regarding RoR. However, I have no concrete idea or subject which I can use. So my question to you is, what research questions can you come up with and are interesting enough to fully discuss in a bachelor thesis? I have been working with RoR for a couple of months now and want to focus myself on this web framework.

My favorite super-hard research topic is this:

How to use test-driven development, and produce truly _proactive_ test cases, when your target is a web page?

By "proactive" I mean: How can you write a test that fails, add code to pass the test, and then _not_look_at_ the resulting web page. The test should be so clear and easy to write that you know the edit to pass the test will correctly upgrade the code.