RESTful Rails and other musings

Hi all,

I would first like to introduce myself to the Ruby on Rails (RoR) community and to say that I hope to begin to build some relationships with other RoR developers.

I'm a long time Java programmer (5+ years). Java was my first experience with Object Oriented Programming (OOP). Before Java I developed using many other languages including C, Pascal, Fortran, BASIC, Visual Basic, and others.

I've only recently discovered Ruby on Rails and have been watching the progress and trend toward a RESTful design. I'd have to say I'm more that a bit intrigued by the concept.

At present my RoR work is for personal web sites, as I ramp up my Rails and agile development skill sets, but I really want to start things off the right way.

One of the key factors that caught my attention was the "convention over configuration" philosophy behind the RoR design. As a Java developer I have often felt "weighed down" by the myriad of configuration and design decisions that go into build a Java application.

From my first Ruby class implementation (an ActiveRecord subclass) I

was immediately struck by how much sense it all made. The code on the screen, was the code that was in my head. From that point on I was hooked. And, that's not to mention database migrations and hundreds of other "cool factors" in Ruby and in Rails.

I have been living in a world without constraints, which sounds great on the surface. However, it's a deceiving world with many technology choices, leading to a proliferation of design inconsistencies, which in turn lead to rigid and fragile application code.

Now on to the point of discussion I would like to present:

1. Assuming no legacy RoR code, being brand new to the framework, is Rails 1.2.1 far enough along to embrace the new RESTful design approach?

2. Can we expect scaffold generators that fully support the RESTful controller design patterns? Or, do these already exist in Rails 1.2.1?