Rails Authentication Tutorial

Does anyone know a good authentication tutorial they can suggest? I've tried several restful authentication ones and an authlogic one on RailsCast. But with each one I try, something seems to be missing in the tutorial and I can't get it to work. I'm new to Rails so it's possible user error on my part.

I'm on Mac OS X 10.5 and I generate all my apps in the Sites directory. Is there a better place to create these applications?

thanks for any response.

Kevin M wrote:

Does anyone know a good authentication tutorial they can suggest? I've tried several restful authentication ones and an authlogic one on RailsCast. But with each one I try, something seems to be missing in the tutorial and I can't get it to work. I'm new to Rails so it's possible user error on my part.

And the problems you're having are...?

I'm on Mac OS X 10.5 and I generate all my apps in the Sites directory. Is there a better place to create these applications?

Yes -- almost anywhere else, unless you're using Passenger.

thanks for any response.

Best,

Hi, why don't you simply post a detail description of the issue(s)
that you're having with the gem/plugin?

-Conrad

Hello Kevin

For a simple authentication you can try nifty_authentication from gem nifty_generators. Just install it, generate a nifty_layout and after that a nifty_authentication. It will create two controllers, one named users which will be for creating users and the other named sessions which will control login and logout. Also be sure to create a map.root in the routes.rb and it will be fully functional. It hasn't got roles etc. though, if you need many roles then maybe it is better to use something else. But for most applications which you might need only an admin area it is ok.