public/index.html

Hi --

I'm very new to rails. I have a couple of what have to be very naive questions. I don't know what else to do but to ask them. I will use separate posts.

The default page is public/index.html. Presumable this would be what one would use as a home page. I don't understand why it's setup as an html page (rather than an rhtml page). I would think that it would be a common requirement to have embedded ruby code in the home page. Presumably I'm either missing something or there is an easy work around. Could someone please square me away? Thanks.

... doug

Hi Doug,

The default page is public/index.html. Presumable this would be what one would use as a home page. I don't understand why it's setup as an html page (rather than an rhtml page). I would think that it would be a common requirement to have embedded ruby code in the home page.

Only pages within the application space get processed via Rails and thus have their eRb processed into html. The /public directory in which all browsers look for index.html is not within the Rails application space. You can override this. Tom Fakes posted the following recently in response to a similar query.

I usually have a controller I call 'main', with an action called 'index' for my home page. Then I have a named route:

map.home '/', :controller => 'main', :action => 'index'

I can add my About, Terms and Conditions, and other random pages that don't fit anywhere else in the main controller.

hth, Bill