Problems when connecting to Sql server 2008 odbc no such file to load error

Hello i am a relative noob to the web world and i am now atempting to move a rails app to a windows server and connect it to a SQL 2008 database

in database.yml file

adapter: sqlserver   mode: odbc   dsn: Driver={SQL Native Client};Server=localhost;Database=DMBackEndServer;username=DM;Pwd=DM;

in gemfile gem 'activerecord-sqlserver-adapter'

i have also setup a system data source via microsoft odbc data source administrator tool

but all i get no matter how hard i try is

LoadError (no such file to load -- odbc):

What am i missing here ??

Help would be much apprechiated

if you are connecting to MS sql you should be using

adapter: sqlserver mode: ado database: blahblah host: mode_blah

adapter: sqlserver

mode: ado database: blahblah host: mode_blah

forgot to add

dsn : much_more_blah autocommit: true

Thanks will try that now and report back if it solved my problem

that only gives me syntax error mode:ado (ArgumentError) i get the same error on that line when trying mode:odbc

I found the problem i wrote mode:ado but i should be mode: ado the space inbetween is inportant. Anyway on to the next problem i now get the error unknown connection mode when i use ado Is ado included in the dbi gem or do i have to install some other gem ?

Ok it is still not working and i have gotten indikations from forum posts and blogs that i should use mode: adonet this bombs out with the message no such file to load -- System.Data

gem 'activerecord-sqlserver-adapter'

LoadError (no such file to load -- odbc):

When using the odbc connection mode for the adapter, you need the gem ruby-odbc to be installed. You will find more information to this gem on   ODBC Binding for Ruby

When you are running on a Linux System I would recommend using the new TinyTDS gem:   GitHub - rails-sqlserver/tiny_tds: TinyTDS - Simple and fast FreeTDS bindings for Ruby using DB-Library.