Problem with Multiple Controller View Paths

Hi, I'm pretty new to hacking Rails internals, but I've recently switched to edge for several reasons. One of which is the use of the multiple controller view paths announced at http://weblog.rubyonrails.com/2007/2/4/new-feature-for-rails-2-0-multiple-controller-view-paths

Anyway, I've developed a plugin that prepends an additional path much as described in the article. The problem is that it is working for layouts, but not regular templates. If I remove the regular template from the default views directory then it does work, but when it exists it is not being overriden correctly.

I'm working on debugging this issue and creating a patch, but I figured someone might be able to point me more quickly in the right direction. I have stuck debug information in a few places, so I can verify that the following is happening:

* ActionController::Base.view_paths is being set correctly up front in an around_filter before the action executes. * AcionView::Base.find_base_path_for does not immediately pick up this change even though it was made earlier in the execution. Both the layout and the template are 'found' using the default path during the first dozen executions of this method (while it's searching different extensions). * When the actual render is performed (ie. after the logger output render content/index is printed) the template is located from the default path as well, but when it searches for layouts/application, suddenly the full paths I specified up front are used and it finds the correct template.

I'm a little rough on the whole rendering flow, so I'm hoping someone can point me in the right direction with a quick insight.

I, for one, am not sure what kind of behavior are you trying to describe. Can you pastie us some code? It may be useful for you if you observed and played with unit tests for this: action_pack/test/controller/view_paths_test.rb You can try and make a failing tests from you observations. -M