Problem about "no action" error

Hi all, I'm a ROR newbie. I'm writing ROR application on Ubuntu 10.04, ruby 1.8.7-p249, rails 2.3.5, mongrel 1.1.5. I wrote a controller called "admin". I also defined a function in the corresponding controller called "show_admin". But each time I browsed to "http://localhost:3000/ admins/show_admin". I always get the following error: No action responded to show. Actions: index, login, logout, and show_admin It seemed that ror find my action, But it failed to show the action. On the other hand, it tried to show the "show" action. But I don't have such an action. I wonder if anyone here can solve my problem. I searched the internet. I found someone said that it might be related to the namespacing system. But I can find the detailed description since it was a google cache. Thanks for any hints or advice in advance.

What in your routes.rb? if you've got map.resources :admins, then the routes that get create assume that admins/blah means 'show the admin with id blah'

Fred

In that action do you want to show all the admins or just one? if you are trying yo list all the admins, you can have a restful route or a named route. please say what you want to do.

kun niu wrote:

Hi all, I'm a ROR newbie. I'm writing ROR application on Ubuntu 10.04, ruby 1.8.7-p249, rails 2.3.5, mongrel 1.1.5. I wrote a controller called "admin".

Okay, that is nice...

I also defined a function in the corresponding controller called "show_admin".

Not so nice... Rails works the best and the easiest if you adhere to the Rails conventions. You should start with a basic tutorial somewhere and follow it, trying to understand how it all fits. My favorite way to get people started is to tell them to scaffold a basic application, then see what the generator created, and understand how it works. Later, worry about an admin, or namespacing.

script/generate scaffold person last_name:string first_name:string