Newbie Confusion re underscores / camel case

Hi,

I'm a Java and ColdFusion developer trying to find my feet with JRuby and Rails.

I've created a very simple "Auction" app, with a database schema like this:

create_table "auction_items", :force => true do |t|     t.string "description"     t.string "title"     t.datetime "start_date"     t.datetime "end_date"     t.datetime "created_at"     t.datetime "updated_at"   end

create_table "bids", :force => true do |t|     t.integer "auction_item_id"     t.decimal "amount", :precision => 15, :scale => 2     t.datetime "bid_time"     t.datetime "created_at"     t.datetime "updated_at"   end

There are two classes in my model:

auction_item.rb:

class AuctionItem < ActiveRecord::Base   has_many :bids end

bid.rb:

class Bid < ActiveRecord::Base   belongs_to :auction_item end

Initially, I had bid.rb like this:

class Bid < ActiveRecord::Base   belongs_to :AuctionItem end

(ie. using the camel-cased class name, as per the definintion in the class rather than the underscored one), but it didn't work until I changed it to use the undscored one.

What is the rule here? Does the name in the "belongs_to" refer to the table name or something?

Similarly, I'm a bit confused why I have to go to

http://localhost:8080/auction_items (not http://localhost:8080/AuctionItems).

Can anyone explain the general rules to me, or point me to somewhere that does please?

Many thanks, Andrew.

Hi

The first parameter to belongs_to is the association id So here auction_item_id being the foreign key according to convension by rails we can say

belongs_to :auction_item

It will be taken as auction_item_id For example you can try

t.belongs_to :auction_item      instead of t.integer "auction_item_id" in the above migration     Defintion of belongs_to you can see at

rails/activerecord/lib/active_record/associations.rb, line 1001

Sijo

Andrew Myers wrote: [...]

Can anyone explain the general rules to me, or point me to somewhere that does please?