New to RonR...

Hello,

I'll try to keep this short BUT, I've got little/no experience with programming. In fact, my only background is using Cold Fusion (since 1996 and VERY little of that for the past 5 years as I've been playing as a Manager-type at my jobs so I haven't had to do any hands-on stuff for a while).

My question: Would Ruby on Rails be a good platform to get back into the swing of things and is it something I can pick up on my own with a book? Thanks so much!

Thank you Shandy. That's exactly the kind of info I was looking for. I've got some experience with javascript and CSS but it has been a while.

You can download Build your own Ruby on Rails web applications book for free from SitePoint

http://www.sitepoint.com/books/rails1/freebook.php

Jason

Hello,

I'll try to keep this short BUT, I've got little/no experience with programming. In fact, my only background is using Cold Fusion (since 1996 and VERY little of that for the past 5 years as I've been playing as a Manager-type at my jobs so I haven't had to do any hands-on stuff for a while).

My question: Would Ruby on Rails be a good platform to get back into the swing of things

Yes.

and is it something I can pick up on my own with a book?

Possibly. Get "Agile Web Development with Rails" and "Programming Ruby" and get started.

I myself have used CF since 99 and thought "why doesn't everyone use this? it's so easy." I now that that about ROR. It took some time for me to relearn my OOP skills but now that I have it back I don't want to work in CF or anything else. Each programing language has its strengths and weakness. I don't want to start a war.

My big learning curve was learning ruby and the rails framework.

Top 12 Ruby on Rails Tutorials

A OOP 101 book that uses ruby

I’ve got a CS degree and 25 years of programming experience (just to let you know where I’m coming from…)