Microsoft beats us to official JQuery support, Do we care?

Is it of any concern that more and more take up the JQuery banner? Why didn't they pick Prototype and Scriptaculous? Seems like we jumped on the REST bandwagon pretty quick but we hold to P&S in face of its ever growing popularity and adoption. Is Rails leadership tied to P&S on a more emotional level then they were with SOAP? Heck I don't know, I'm no expert, its just that it seems there has been a call for JQuery on Rails as the official library and yet in spite of this and in deference to what we are seeing at large the response from the Rails leaders seems to be something akin to "We don't care whats going on, we are P&S no matter what". Not to say P&S is bad, not at all, but then SOAP wasn't bad either and we made the change.

What do you think?

ChessMess wrote:

Is it of any concern that more and more take up the JQuery banner? Why didn't they pick Prototype and Scriptaculous? Seems like we jumped on the REST bandwagon pretty quick but we hold to P&S in face of its ever growing popularity and adoption. Is Rails leadership tied to P&S on a more emotional level then they were with SOAP? Heck I don't know, I'm no expert, its just that it seems there has been a call for JQuery on Rails as the official library and yet in spite of this and in deference to what we are seeing at large the response from the Rails leaders seems to be something akin to "We don't care whats going on, we are P&S no matter what". Not to say P&S is bad, not at all, but then SOAP wasn't bad either and we made the change.

What do you think?

jQuery is my preferred framework and the one I use in Rails (via the jRails plugin). But IMHO, the semantics of Prototype better fit that of jQuery's and that's why it is the default javascript library shipped with Rails. That shouldn't stop you though from using the javascript framework of your choice.