Mass Emailing in Rails

I've seen some discussions already in the mailing list about sending Mass Emails in Rails, but they've been pretty unsatisfying.

I'm working with a non-profit with a low budget. They'd like to save money on email communication by building a tool that will allow them to send out graphic emails through their site. The hitch is that the web host has an SMTP throttling limit of 50 recipients/blast and 500 recipients/hour. Their mailing list is just over 500 recipients.

Someone suggested I use a combination of BackgrounDrb and ar_mailer to feed the emails into a database and cycle through a portion of them every few minutes. But I'm an intermediate Rails developer and I couldn't make heads or tails of some the documentation on those two tools -- especially ar_mailer.

Can anybody provide a better solution or a tutorial/walkthrough on using BackgrounDrb and ar_mailer together?

P.S. The answer is not to BCC everyone on the mailing list.

Hi there,

I’ve successfully implemented ar_mailer, and it works well. All emails get queued into a database table that looks like this:

create_table :emails do |t|
  t.column :from, :string
  t.column :to, :string
  t.column :last_send_attempt, :integer, :default => 0
  t.column :mail, :text
end

To get your emails going into this table, you subclass your mailer classes from ARMailer, like this:

class NotificationMailer < ActionMailer::ARMailer end

Now, when you tell your rails app to deliver an email, it actually just gets queued into that table.

Now you need some sort of background process to check this table periodically. I handled this by making a little rake task to send out the emails from the queue, like this:

desc “Send queued emails” task :send_queued_emails => :environment do Dir.chdir(RAILS_ROOT) # change working directory to rails app root so ar_sendmail will work correctly ActionMailer::ARSendmail.run ([‘-o’]) end