jQuery Rails Functions

Hi,

I was wondering if anybody who used jQuery with rails could help me out. I have a droppable that fires a simple function, shown below:

$("#list").droppable({   accept: ".item",   hoverClass: 'droppable-hover',   drop: function(ev, ui) {     $(this).append("<br>Dropped!");   } });

But how could I get this to fire a Rails funciton in the controller so that the dropped item could be changed at a database level? For example, when it is dropped, how would I change the updated_at value to Time.now?

Thanks,

DAZ

Hi,

You need to call a function in your drop handler that goes out to rails to
make the changes.

We do the following in some of our jquery handlers:

var c = {}; c['authenticity_token'] = encodeURIComponent(window._token); c['user_id'] = <%= current_user.id %>; $.post("<%= url_for(:action => 'lock', :id => @current_page.form_data.id)
%>", c);

Cheers Simon

Thanks Simon, but I'm really new to jQuery - I think I know how to call a function from the drop handler:

$("#dropper").droppable({   accept: "#dragger",   drop: dropped()

});

function dropped(){ // do stuff }

But what do I have to put in the dropped function that actually accesses rails? You seem to be using $.post, but I don't really know how this works. Also, I've seen other examples use $.load, and again, I don't quite get how it works.

Is there any good documentation on this?

cheers again,

DAZ

DAZ,

jQuery API Documentation is pretty good.

We use $.post because of some extra stuff we need to do, but $.ajax is probably the best option for you.

Something like this should work (warning, written in front of the TV and untested)