Is TDD really followed in the industry ?

Hey,

I am a rails beginners. I have created a couple of simple applications without following TDD.

I have a question - Do good programmers really follow TDD strictly ? I mean.. Do they follow { 1. Write Test 2. Write Code 3. Refactor } cycle ?

Is Writing tests before Implentation code really significate beyond these TDD books ??

Please clarify .. I am a beginner and I want to grow well in rails atmosphere.

Thanks

lucky in ruby wrote:

Hey,

I am a rails beginners. I have created a couple of simple applications without following TDD.

I worked without tests for 8 years. Never again.

I have a question - Do good programmers really follow TDD strictly ? I mean.. Do they follow { 1. Write Test 2. Write Code 3. Refactor } cycle ?

Yes.

Is Writing tests before Implentation code really significate beyond these TDD books ??

Yes.

Please clarify .. I am a beginner and I want to grow well in rails atmosphere.

Thanks

Best,

I am a rails beginners. I have created a couple of simple applications

without following TDD.

I have a question - Do good programmers really follow TDD strictly ? I

mean… Do they follow { 1. Write Test 2. Write Code 3. Refactor }

cycle ?

Is Writing tests before Implentation code really significate beyond

these TDD books ??

Absolutely! It’s a matter of habit to get in to, but once you do…

I much prefer developing TDD. It’s not always easy (if you’re taking over an existing codebase, etc) but if you have the chance go for it - you’ll find bugs much earlier in the process which is ALWAYS a good thing :slight_smile:

A lot of companies using Rails are doing things in a very agile/Agile way - automated testing is a key part of that, and it’s always better to test first.

I would say though, that I much prefer feature tests using Cucumber to old Test::Unit tests.

Cheers,

Andy