How to Disable Pluralization

Hi,

First, I am new at Ruby on Rails. When using scaffolding feature, rails pluralize some automatically generated files' names, like controller names, view names and helper names. What I want is to disable this pluralization. For example, I want the contoller name of model 'Post' to be 'post_controller.rb' instead of 'posts_controller.rb'.

Thanks.

You could just change the names of the files, but I think you’d also have to make changes elsewhere (e.g., routes.rb). Why go against the convention, though? Doing so will likely cause you more work and, at least initially, be slightly confusing to others who read your code.

Regards,

Craig

You can rewrite the inflections using ActiveSupport::Inflector.inflections (http://api.rubyonrails.org/ classes/ActiveSupport/Inflector/Inflections.html) and do something like mapping the plural of all words to the same word.

Regards.

Franco Catena.

Before you do anything extreme, try this (example from previous post).

script/generate scaffold Equipment name:string kind:string

Then see what happens when you go: http://localhost:3000/equipment/new

Equipment is a word that behaves just as you'ld like with singular (equipment) == plural(equipment).

You're going to need more than just inflections to make this puppy work.

If you want to gain any proficiency with Rails, I'd urge you to resist the instinct to do things like this, and go with the flow.

A lot of Rails is following the frameworks conventions, and pluralization is one of those. If you do you'll find things much easier in the long run.

If you don't you'll find yourself working much too hard in the long run.

Rick Denatale wrote:

If you want to gain any proficiency with Rails, I'd urge you to resist the instinct to do things like this, and go with the flow.