How fast a PHP Developer can learn Ruby on Rails

Hi guys,

I have more than 6 years of experience as PHP Developer, and now i want to learn Ruby on rails. But i am confused how far i can achieve the same. Can you please let me know how long it will take me to learn Ruby on Rails and start a project.

Hi guys,

I have more than 6 years of experience as PHP Developer, and now i want to learn Ruby on rails. But i am confused how far i can achieve the same. Can you please let me know how long it will take me to learn Ruby on Rails and start a project.

You can start a project in a few minutes.

I suggest you take a couple of days out and work right through a good tutorial such as railstutorial.org (which is free to use online). With your experience you should be able to work quickly through it. Then you will understand the basics of rails and should be able to answer the question yourself.

Colin

You should start from (pure) Ruby, not from Ruby On Rails.

You should start from (pure) Ruby, not from Ruby On Rails.

I think that very much depends on the individual. Someone with good knowledge of programming fundamentals should not have difficulty learning both at once.

Colin

You can start with “The Ruby Programming Language” book. It’s written by David Flanagan & Yukihiro Matsumoto.

śr., 16.12.2015 o 11:21 użytkownik Colin Law clanlaw@gmail.com napisał:

I think rails is great, but it’s probably more complicated than PHP … I think Rails is also perhaps better as far as back end development. If alot of what you do is mostly front end, I am not sure if you would get that far into the rails stack.