How do I fix broken gems in Leopard?

/usr/bin/gem:23: uninitialized constant Gem::GemRunner (NameError)

This is what I get when I try to run anything like "sudo gem update rails"

I tried to upgrade my 1.2.6 rails install running on Leopard. I think the problem started because I forgot to run my "gem install rails" command (to upgrade to 2.0) using "sudo". That and I forgot to use "update" instead of "install" - so things are a bit crazy now.

I can run rails and the version in the Terminal is 2.0.1 - but when I am getting a MySQL related error when I try to view the application's framework. I thought I might need to update my gems, so I downloaded the latest package and ran "ruby setup.rb". I also made sure that the mysql gem was up to date. Now nothing related to gems is working.

I'm new to rails and I'm used to the whole "it just works" mentality of developing on a Mac. So I really don't know where to begin when I'm troubleshooting rails.

How do I make sure that my gems are properly installed and reinstall them if I need to? And on that note, does anyone know where all the gems are kept in Leopard? I found references to them in /Library/Ruby/ 1.8/Gems and /System/Library/Frameworks/ruby.framework

Once I do that, is it possible to roll back to rails 1.2.6 so I can get a stable environment again before trying to upgrade to 2.0 again?

Thanks for any help you might be able to give.

I think you went wrong by installing gems the way you did.

Go to macosforge under the Ruby section and find the FAQ.

:slight_smile: Very funny. I love my Mac. It'll take a lot more than a broken set of gems to make me give it up.

Thanks, I'll look into that.