Help with Associations Self Joins Example

I am an experienced software developer learning Rails, I like it a lot by the way.

I was reading through associations and found the Self Joins example so I am trying the example but it is missing some important details I need. Maybe the example assumes I know more than I really do, in my career I have made similar assumptions.

The model looks like this:

class Employee < ApplicationRecord
  has_many :subordinates, class_name: "Employee",
                          foreign_key: "manager_id"

belongs_to :manager, class_name: "Employee", optional: true
end

The migration schema looks like this:

class CreateEmployees < ActiveRecord::Migration[7.0]
  def change
    create_table :employees do |t|
      t.references :manager, foreign_key: { to_table: :employees }
      t.timestamps
    end
  end
end

The example states I can use the association in the following way:

With this setup, you can retrieve @employee.subordinates and @employee.manager .

This interested me as it looks like I could get a managers subordinates or a subordinate’s manager, pretty exciting. Then reality set in, I don’t know how to associate managers and subordinates in the code, controller I assume. I have searched all over the place to no avail. I realized this piece is missing from the example. Can some one help me with a simple complete example I can sandbox.

Thanks in advance for your help. Remember I need complete details assume I know nothing because for the most part at the stage I am at its true.

The setup you’ve got so far looks pretty well to me – I would recommend adding appropriate inverse_of to the associations in the model:

class Employee < ApplicationRecord
  has_many :subordinates, class_name: "Employee",
                          foreign_key: "manager_id", inverse_of: :manager

belongs_to :manager, class_name: "Employee", inverse_of: :subordinates, optional: true
end