Help me understand ruby on rails (beginner)

Hi,

Please forgive the simplicity of the questions to follow.

I've written "offline" software in C++/Java/Actionscript 3.0, etc but have never gotten into web development before. I heard about ruby on rails and got excited.

I am a completely new to ruby and rails (and web development in general). I've started reading about it as much as I could but I've exhausted all the basic "do this, now do that" tutorials which do a good job at holding your hand but don't really explain how things work so that you can do something different.

I just have a couple of questions that pertain to ruby+rails and databases in general.

1) Database 101: When you use the scaffold script to create a site (with mySQL as the DB) how does rails create a database + tables? Where can you add more columns? Where is the database located? How can you view its contents? I've never worked with a database before so I'm a little confused as to where these tables are stored, is there a file somewhere on the harddrive (assuming I'm running this locally)?

2) How do ruby on rails apps work in general? There is way too much magic with all these generating scripts, it's a little confusing. Let's take a simple example: Can someone describe how you would go about creating a website with two input text fields and a button. The button would add up the numbers in the two text fields and display it and store it in a database table as an archive of answers that also get displayed in a table on the website. You don't have to go into syntactic detail but simply describe the workflow and logical steps to take.

Sorry for the wordy post, and thanks for your time.

Go buy a book like RailSpace or some other Ruby on Rails book. These will cover all this for ya, and it'll be good to have around. I like RailSpace just because it's a tutorial for making a complete web app.