Event Calendar/Scheduler Implementation

Hi there. I am a RoR newbie and come from the Java/C# perspective. After digging into Rails I would like to convert an ASP.NET project -that served as a protoype- to RoR.

The only thing that I haven´t got a good solution for is handling calendar events. With that I specifically mean creating, moving an event or a set of events as well as recurrence handling - similar to Google Calendar if you will. There numerous projects and controls to do that in ASP.NET and maybe someone already did something similar for RoR.

So far I found projects that support reading from GoogleCalendar as well displaying a simple Calendar http://topfunky.net/svn/plugins/calendar_helper/.

Thanks, Elmar

Ok, so it seems like there is no "premade" component (or it is so obvious that nobody cared to answer ;-)). Still, it would be interesting to know if anyone on this list implemented an Event scheduler in Rails. I´ve seen somebody creating a nice clientside UI implementation in ExtJS. Maybe I should take this as a starting point.

Any hint or idea is appreciated. Elmar

P.s.: Man, there is even a "Sponsored Link" ad for an ASP.NET Calendar Control on this page as I write this. Maybe I just need to type in enough keywords (like RUBY EVENT CALENDAR) so that the Google Ad words filter will eventually figure it out for me ;-).

There are a couple of gems that help with recurrence. Check rubyforge for those.

As for the UI, you'll have to roll your own for the most part. You'll find that RoR is significantly more 'hands on' in UI than .net. Personally, I think that's a good thing.

I actually did a blog post about "accidental complexity" a few days ago. In short: I agree with you. In more detail: http://aerobis.wordpress.com/2008/02/12/aspnet-webforms-send-from-heaven-or-microsoft/