Do I really need Subversion and Capistrano?

Hi! I am new to RoR. I am working my way through Agile Web Dev w/ Rails in an effort to take over as web developer for a current RoR app.

This site is currently deployed on TextDrive and is not taking advantage of several of the more useful (IMO) advantages of Ruby on Rails and TextDrive. Specifically, db migration, Subversion and following the TextDrive instructions for setting up and using RoR and Subversion.

Now, my client is talking about moving hosting over to GoDaddy.com. They don't have Subversion or Capistrano, but their tech support is significantly more accessible than TextDrive.

This app does not need multiple servers and the developer team consists of ME, so, is Subversion and Capistrano worth staying with TextDrive?

Am I completely off-base?

I have also tried to get on the IRC RoR channel, but no one ever responds to my questions. Still haven't figured out if I am doing something wrong connecting or if I am being inadvertantly rude. Thanks in advance for any advice! Jee

Hi Joe -

No, you don't need subversion or capistrano. They're handy, but not a requirement.

Cheers Starr

Personally, I don't use Capistrano yet. It's something I've wanted to
start using, but all of my deployments are limited to one server
apiece. I sometimes use Makefiles for ad-hoc maintenance when Cap
seems like cognitive overload. I'm sure if I learned it it would be
fine, but for now I stick with what I know.

However, you would be well served to use Subversion. It has saved me
countless hours of rework and debugging. The big advantage of SVN for
small or one-person teams is not concurrency but versioning. You can
ask it things like "what code changed between yesterday at 9 PM and
now?".

I would caution against GoDaddy. TxD has a proven track record with
RoR support, and it seems like GoDaddy is just now jumping on the
bandwagon.

As for IRC, you need to register your nick before the group can see
your posts. See below: