Create SOAP Webservice with Rails 3

Hello, I'm just getting started with Rails, and for my first project I want to create a Rails app that is nothing more that a SOAP web service. From what I have been able to figure out it looks like with Rails 2 there was a web services framework of some sort. I have been struggling to find anything on Rails 3. Oh yea, yes it has to be SOAP :slight_smile: , we have SOAP clients and apps already and we have no plans to move to anything else, for now.

Is there a good article or something on getting started with this?

Thanks, Charlie

Rails favor REST architecture then SOAP, if you must do soap, checkout this threads

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/2146669/rails-using-another-apps-soap-interface http://stackoverflow.com/questions/40273/whats-the-best-way-to-use-soap-with-ruby

Skellington wrote in post #969532:

Hello, I'm just getting started with Rails, and for my first project I want to create a Rails app that is nothing more that a SOAP web service. From what I have been able to figure out it looks like with Rails 2 there was a web services framework of some sort. I have been struggling to find anything on Rails 3. Oh yea, yes it has to be SOAP :slight_smile: , we have SOAP clients and apps already and we have no plans to move to anything else, for now.

This is just my own opinion, but if all you want from Rails is to provide a SOAP web service then choose something other that Rails. I'm very much a fan of Rails, but I think you'll have an uphill battle. Rails is very opinionated against SOAP, as am I.

I'd say, do yourself a favor and either use Rails as it is intended, which is to provide web services through REST. Or find a framework you won't have to fight against every step of the way.

Robert Walker wrote in post #969562:

Skellington wrote in post #969532: