changing routes.rb

Hi,

I'm a complete beginner and I just have a simple question: How do I change lines in a file like routes.rb? I know the command type (i.e type config\routes.rb) but that just shows it and doesn't allow me to change anything.

Thanks in advance

Hi,

I'm a complete beginner and I just have a simple question: How do I change lines in a file like routes.rb? I know the command type (i.e type config\routes.rb) but that just shows it and doesn't allow me to change anything.

Use your favourite text editor

Fred

Thankyou.

Hey, I'm trying to sort out the routing still, I've generated a home controller, deleted the public/index.html and changed the routes.rb to have :root to=> "home#index" and I have changed the html code in app\view\home\index

When I open it I keep getting: Routing Error No route matches "/"

Hey, I’m trying to sort out the routing still, I’ve generated a home

controller, deleted the public/index.html and changed the routes.rb to

have :root to=> “home#index” and I have changed the html code in

app\view\home\index

When I open it I keep getting: Routing Error No route matches “/”

Hmmm it sounds like you might be getting sent elsewhere. Is there anotehr :root entry in your routes? As well, do you have both an home/index.html.erb view as well as an index action in your controller? Also, is there any other code you have added to the app such as in the application controller which might be redirecting you?

Hey, I'm trying to sort out the routing still, I've generated a home controller, deleted the public/index.html and changed the routes.rb to have :root to=> "home#index" and I have changed the html code in app\view\home\index

It should just be root, not :root so root :to => "home#index"

Colin

David Kahn wrote in post #997316: