Changing password is not working right.

Hi I am trying to change a password from my DB, adding a new user works.. login in as the new user also works.. to change the user password does not works right.. I basically using a bit of the login code with the new user code.. what I am trying to do..( I MUST use unix crypt no way I can change this unfortunately) 1. I need to check for the email and password and I add this to variables of course the password I need to encrypted from plain text before I check this..( I also do this when login in.. and works) 2. after that is true then I go ahead to try to change the password..

the issue? I seem to change it but after that I cant log in anymore.. so somehow the .crypt(salt) that I am using for login and creating the user is not working here.. Im a noob so please let me know what can this be.

I also cant seem to see anything on the development.log :frowning: how can I see what is going on between the form and rails? with no eyes I cant troubleshoot.

----------------snip----------------- def change_password

old_password = params[:crypt_old].crypt(params[:crypt_old])         new_password = params[:crypt_new].crypt(params[:crypt_new])         username = params[:email]         auth2 = Users.find(:first, :conditions => [ "email = '%s' AND crypt = '%s'",username, old_password ])         if auth2         auth2.update_attribute(:crypt, new_password)         redirect_to :action => 'si'         else         redirect_to :action => 'no'         end    end end

------------- snip ------------------

<div class="depot-form">

<%= error_messages_for 'login' %>

<fieldset> <legend>Enter your email, your old and new password</legend> <% form_tag :action => 'change_password' do %>     <p>         <label for="email">Email</label><br/>         <%= text_field_tag :email %>     </p>

<p>         <label for="crypt_old">Old Password</label><br/>         <%= password_field_tag :crypt_old %>    </p>